Midwest Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation

Midwest PARC Region

States of the Midwest region of Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation (PARC)

Midwest PARC States

States in the Midwest region include:

  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • South Dakota
  • Wisconsin

Note that Michigan and Wisconsin have state chapters that are officially recognized.

Midwest PARC Species

Each of the 164 species of reptiles and amphibians native to the Midwest PARC region can be found in both of the links below. Scientific and common names follow Crother et al. 2008. More details about the list can be found in the links below.

Midwest PARC Ecoregions

Level I Ecoregions

Level I Ecoregions for the Midwest PARC region. The ecoregions include Northwestern Forested Mountains (dark green), Great Plains (peach), Northern Forests (blue), and Eastern Temperate Forests (green).

Level III Ecoregions

Level III Ecoregions for the Midwest PARC region. Click on the image for a more detailed version with labels.

An ecoregion classification system attempts to define and describe geographic regions that correspond to broad ecosystem patterns, topography, geology, soils, vegetation patterns, and the distributions of plants and animals. Level I ecoregions for the Midwest PARC region are shown on the map at right. Omernik (1987) described more detailed ecoregions (Level III) for the conterminous United States. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (2006) is coordinating an effort to further subdivide these into Level IV regions.

The thirty Level III ecoregions for the Midwest PARC region are in the following list and labelled on the map to the right. Those regions marked with an asterisk (*) are contained entirely within the Midwest PARC region. View a larger map.

  • Northwestern Forested Mountains
    • 17. Middle Rockies
  • Great Plains
    • 25. High Plains
    • 26. Southwestern Tablelands
    • 27. Central Great Plains
    • 28. Flint Hills
    • 29. Cross Timbers
    • 40. Central Irregular Plains
    • 42. Northwestern Glaciated Plains
    • 43. Northwestern Great Plains
    • 44. Nebraska Sand Hills*
    • 46. Northern Glaciated Plains
    • 47. Western Corn Belt Plains*
    • 48. Lake Agassiz Plain
  • Northern Forests
    • 49. Northern Minnesota Wetlands
    • 50. Northern Lakes and Forests
  • Eastern Temperate Forests
    • 30. Ozark Highlands
    • 51. North Central Hardwoods*
    • 52. Driftless Area*
    • 53. Southeastern Wisconsin Till Plain*
    • 54. Central Corn Belt Plains*
    • 55. Eastern Corn Belt Plains*
    • 56. Southern Michigan / Northern Indiana Drift Plains*
    • 57. Huron / Erie Lake Plains
    • 61. Erie Drift Plain
    • 70. Western Allegheny Plateau
    • 71. Interior Plateau
    • 72. Interior River Valleys and Hills
    • 73. Mississippi Alluvial Plain
    • 74. Mississippi Valley Loess Plains
    • 83. Eastern Great Lakes and Hudson Lowlands

Literature Cited

  • Crother, B.I. (chair, Committee on Standard English and Scientific Names) 2008. Scientific and Standard English Names of Amphibians and Reptiles of North America, North of Mexico, with Comments Regarding Confidence in our Understanding, 6th ed. SSAR Herpetological Circular (37): 84 Pp.
  • Envrionmental Protection Agency (EPA). 2007. <http://www.epa.gov/> Accessed 1 February 2007.
  • Omernik, J.M. 1987. Ecoregions of the conterminous United States. Map Supplement (scale 1:7,500,000). Annals of the Association of American Geographers 77(1): 118-125.