Midwest Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation

About Midwest PARC

States of the Midwest region of Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation (PARC)

What is Midwest PARC?

Midwest Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation (MWPARC) is a regional working group of Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation (PARC). Both the regional group (MWPARC) and national group (PARC) are dedicated to the conservation of native herpetofauna (reptiles and amphibians) and their habitats. The Midwest region includes: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. Read more about the Midwest PARC region.

What is the organizational structure of Midwest PARC?

MWPARC is managed by two co-chair positions, each serving a two-year term. The co-chairs are responsible for:

  • organizing the annual meeting;
  • coordinating content on the webpage;
  • serving as voting members on National PARC’s Joint National Steering Committee (JNSC);
  • reporting regional activities and project progress to the JNSC;
  • reporting National PARC activities and project progress to regional working group members;
  • representing PARC at regional and local conferences and events.

The current co-chairs are Jennifer Buchanan and Melissa Youngquist.

MWPARC also has an advisory board (see below) and task teams to address issues important to PARC and amphibian and reptile conservation in the Midwest.

Midwest PARC Advisory Board

The advisory board assists co-chairs with strategic planning and communicating with working groups. The advisory board is composed of members representing the various partners (state and federal agencies, academia, and other organizations). The current advisory board members are:

  • Jeff Briggler (Missouri) - Treasurer
  • Bob Brodman (Indiana) - Past Co-chair of MW PARC Ex-Officio
  • Jennifer Buchanan (Kansas) - Senior Co-chair of MW PARC
  • Gary Casper (Wisconsin) - WI PARC
  • Nate Engbrecht (Indiana)
  • Paul Frese (Iowa)
  • Katy Greenwald (Michigan) - MI PARC
  • Jen Lamb (Minnesota)
  • Greg Lipps (Ohio) - OH PARC
  • Mark Mills (Missouri)
  • Jennifer Moore (Michigan)
  • J. Daren Riedle (Kansas)
  • Julia Robson (Wisconsin)
  • Megan Seymour (Ohio)
  • Ryan Wagner (Ohio)
  • Melissa Youngquist (Illinois) - Junior Co-chair of MW PARC

Midwest PARC publishes all documents in the standard portable document format (PDF), an ISO standard.

Midwest PARC Advisory Board Guidelines

The advisory board guidelines can be found in the links below.

What is PARC?

Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation (PARC) is an inclusive partnership dedicated to the conservation of herpetofauna--reptiles and amphibians--and their habitats. Our membership comes from all walks of life and includes individuals from state and federal agencies, conservation organizations, museums, pet trade industry, nature centers, zoos, energy industry, universities, herpetological organizations, research laboratories, forest industries, and environmental consultants. Visit the PARC website for more information.

This website and any products posted herein are officially recognized by the national entity, Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation (PARC), as the efforts of an approved PARC region.

State Chapters

In the Midwest region, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin have officially recognized state chapters.